Our Creatives

The following is a list of creatives who have contributed to the four decade old collaborative arts culture of the Broker’s Building Gallery. The section is in two parts: Active Contributors and Legacy Members. Active contributors are those creatives and artists who continue to support the cause of public arts. Legacy Members are those who have historically contributed to the culture that has established the BBAGB. Both lists will expand through continued efforts of art activism as well as art research.

Legacy Artists

The old Broker’s Building Board logo.

The Broker’s Building Art Gallery Board at 402 Market Street, San Diego, CA is a recent formalization of a local community cultural institution of more than 40 years recently featuring traditional oil painters such as Jo Caldwell, Madeline Sherry, Dan Camp, Hans Chobolits, Peter Suczeck and many others. Under the direction of Ms. Helena Espinoza and Mr. Qamar Bradford, the board has formalized into a 501(c)(3) organization in the hopes of becoming a self-sufficient body of artists maintaining our origins as a Grassroots Gallery and contributing to arts for the public.

Legacy artists are artist that once held studios in the Broker’s Building Gallery during its four decade existence. Although this list is not comprehensive, it is a starting ground for art history research in San Diego as well as the heritage of our traditions origin.

Hans Chobolits – https://chobolits.com/
Beto Soto – https://www.instagram.com/betosotophoto/?hl=en
Chris Herzog – http://www.kevinworkmanfoundation.org/about.html
Diego Arriaga – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=plbrN4ppb1E
Tim Casey – http://www.jocaldwell.com/Jo%20Caldwell%20.html
Alex Sasha Toporovsky – https://sashafineart.com/
Nicole Connelly – https://www.linkedin.com/in/nicole-connelly-7857a063
Helena Espinoza – https://www.linkedin.com/in/helena-espinoza-aa52b219b
Marie Miller/ Lola Connelly – https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/lola-connelly
Milly Reed – https://www.studioscultura.com/about
Shannon McKee – https://www.shannonlmckee.com/about
Qamar Bradford – http://qabproserv.com/
Joanne Barrows – https://www.linkedin.com/in/joanne-barrows-bothwell-79989b35
Daniel Roberto Ortega – http://www.earthwerks.us/?fbclid=IwAR2sPPx9TR7a1L7Vy_wChkH_87gFMTVfvHCsTSDIlaccgh6nsDgxiQD3zbs
Carl Raymond Schmidt – https://www.artandeyecandy.com/
Renee Tay – https://www.vagallery.com/renee-tay.html
Norman Tancioco – https://www.pinterest.com/normantancioco/
Yomar Augusto – http://yomaraugusto.com/
Dan Camp – http://www.dancampstudio.com/
Claudia Mackey – https://www.claudiamackeyfineart.com/
Carolyn Bjornson – https://cbjornson.com/
Ramona from Romania
Madeline Sherry – https://madelinesherrypaintings.com/
Jo Caldwell – http://www.jocaldwell.com/Jo%20Caldwell%20.html
Peter Suckzec – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xj9BwXWc0ow
Stephen Morris – https://www.themakermorris.com/read-me
Walter Bauman –
Harry Holiday – https://harry-holiday.pixels.com/
Shepard Fairey – https://obeygiant.com/
Richard Allen Morris – https://rbstevensongallery.com/pages/morris.html
Tom Driscoll – http://www.tomdriscoll.net/bio
…and more!

If were missing your credits, please notify us at info@brokersbuilding.org.

Fundraiser Contributors

In 2017 the artists of the BBAGB was informed of the purchase o the historic building by Pacifica Enterprises. Our biggest saving grace were the numerous artists that gathered around our cause and rallied for continuing of grassroots community and art.

Daniel Mar – Event Production Referral – https://www.linkedin.com/in/danielmar
Manuel Delgado & Xociety Collective – fashion, dj, music, installation art, graphic design, video editing – https://www.facebook.com/xocietycltv/
Shaun Pena – dj, audio recording, equipment – https://www.facebook.com/pages/category/DJ/Nawsh-348084752563242/
Sals Omega – dj, audio recording, equipment, lighting, graphic design, video editing – https://eyeomega.net/
Nick Zetlmaier– dj, audio recording, equipment, lighting, graphic design, video editing – https://www.linkedin.com/in/goodghost
Vivvi the Force (Kyle Merriweather) – drag, fashion, make-up, tailoring and seamstress – https://www.instagram.com/vivvithe_force/?hl=en
Jehlad Hickson – Muscian, Keynote Speaker, Therapist – https://www.jehlad.com/
Kyle Coleman – Music, equipment: color lights, portable speakers, graphics and sticker production, pizza catering
Raef Khalsa – Creative direction, music production, songwriting, public service – https://www.linkedin.com/in/raef-khalsa-2777816b
Ambrose & Dominik Bellow – Audio recording, performance, barista, live sound, songwriting, drums and gear, music theory/ vision. – https://www.instagram.com/dominik_sage/
Rodrigo Bars – singer, producer, illustrator – https://www.instagram.com/rodrigobars/
Devin A. Peyton – guitar, audio equipment
Oliver Herrera – graphics and sticker production, Mexican international music and production, singer, guitarist, music recording.
Kalidas Shanti – speaker, poet, spoken word, improv, writing, website management, cash handling and accounting
Lisbeth Machado, Yago & the Visitershttps://thevisitersmusic.com/

If were missing your credits, please notify us at info@brokersbuilding.org.

Press

    “What about the arts?”

https://sduptownnews.com/what-about-the-arts/

    “Meet Qamar Bradford of Broker’s Building Art Gallery

http://sdvoyager.com/interview/meet-qamar-bradford-brokers-building-art-gallery-gaslamp-quarter/

    “Meet Milly Reed of Gaslamp Sculpting Studio in Downtown”

http://sdvoyager.com/interview/meet-milly-reed-gaslamp-sculpting-studio-downtown-san-diego/

    “Dieselfunk Dispatch: SDCC Afrofuturism Lounge with LaWana Richmond, Keithan Jones, and Jason Reeves”

    KPBS Special on our pilot Comic-Con Afrofuturism Lounge https://youtu.be/t14RSK_6zbk